Mall of Georgia Dentistry's Blog

"Making you smile from the inside out"

Old Faithful September 14, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Mall of Georgia Dentistry @ 3:03 am

For as long as I can remember, at least ever since the day my sister gave me one, I have been singing the praises of the Sonicare toothbrush. I never realized just how much I relied on it for my overall oral care until now.

  I have needed a head replacement for my Sonicare for the last week but I can’t seem to find the time to make a special trip to the store just for that.  So, for the last week I have been using old faithful…the manual toothbrush. While I have a brand new brush that any other person would think works “just fine”, I can’t help but feel as though I havent brushed my teeth at all. The first time I ever used the Sonicare I could tell how remarkably clean it made my mouth feel, then several hours later, how little plaque had returned. The only thing I’m noticing now are way larger amounts of plaque on all of my teeth, as soon as 20 minutes after I brushed, and it seems to be taking me a lot longer at night to remove all the plaque when I’m flossing.

 By now we all know how these ultrasonic brushes work…The little bristles vibrate, move up and down and around and around so so many times per minute but I personally didn’t realize just how much it has effected the overall (good) health of my own mouth. Right now I feel like I could take an ice pic and chip the plaque off of my teeth. Sure maybe a little of it is in my mind but I know one thing, there’s no way my hand can move as fast or brush my teeth as efficiently as my Sonicare and my teeth have never felt as dirty as they do now! Old faithful is just fine for in between brushes but never again will I rely on her for an entire week or longer. I’ll make it a point to get out tonight and get that replacement head, perhaps even an extra, just so that I am never in this predicament again.

 

Leave a Reply

